Day 425

Day 425

Saturday March 4

And here we are. Day one of The London Bass Show. The last two years of this I’ve given a full account of all the doings and toings. I’ve I’m not going to do that this year and will just concentrate on a few notable events if any happen. That’s the theory anyway. Let’s see how I get on with it. If you want to know what the whole experience is like, it’s all there in the epic 10,000 word account of last year. That thing took me forever to write and stressed me out as I got so far behind writing about other ongoing stuff that was happening. The sheer amount of what I had before to write also overwhelmed me a little so I’m going to try not to do that to myself this time. However, I’m of course very happy to have got it down. And I did a pretty full on job the year before even though I only went to the Saturday night get together and then the Sunday. For this account I’m not even going to try to list all the great people I meet either as it’s beyond inevitable that I’ll miss someone so I’m just going to see who pops up as I tell it. And unlike the previous two shows I’m not keeping a notebook of what’s going on so I won’t have the forensic record I had before.

There is something specific I want to get sorted at this one but I’ll have to talk to Scott privately for that.

I’ve aimed to arrive for 11:30 to see Zoltan Dekany in the new SBL room and manage to arrive just after that. I head to the room and the massive presence of SBL’s Stu looms over me. My first encounter with Team SBL which I will learn is there in some force. ‘Sorry, you can’t come in,’ he says. ‘There are people backed right up to behind this door. It really isn’t possible to get anyone else in.’ Oh well. Dmitry Lisenko is in the auditorium now. I’ve never heard of him but he’s on and I’m here so that’s where I go. I’m treated to a quite wonderful half hour or so of original songs featuring Dmitry on bass and his wife Mara on vocals. I discover later they’re called Karmafree.

After that one of the first people I see in the cafeteria area is Mike Concannon. Surprise number one. He’d said he wasn’t going to be here as he’d been somewhat waylaid but then realised he could make it which is great to see. He asks if I’ve seen Siby yet? Surprise number two. What? Siby’s here? I had no idea. ‘No-one did,’ he says. She didn’t tell anyone. He tells me she’s in the SBL room with Kevin. The next seminar’s starting soon and it’s Cody Wright. I was going to say the quite brilliant Cody Wright but feel safe to assume that every seminar/event is held by someone quite brilliant. Well, Cody’s first so he gets it. I get in this time although yes, the place is still packed, as it will continue to be all weeked. And there he is doing his thing and talking about how he does it. Now here’s my first sighting of the weekend of Scott Devine, or rather Scott’s trainers through the mass of people standing at the back. And yep. Over there in the middle of the chairs I catch the familiar sight of Siby’s hair SBL member spotting over, I sit back to enjoy the seminar, which features Scott jamming with Cody which is a bit of an event in itself.

Once it’s all done, I have a huge greet with a ton of SBL people. Then out of them all Siby appears and we have a massively emotional hug. Very aptly, our first meeting. Right there in the very centre of the SBL room. As Cody finishes, Scott comes up and talks to us a little about what else is going to happen. About now I see Hutch outside the door that’s just opened. An SBLer I’ve got to know quite well as far as Campus activity goes but have never met. I feel guilty there as I want to go and say hi but I don’t want to walk out while Scott’s talking. Would be rude. When Scott finishes I start to walk out of the door to say hi but see quite a queue has formed. I declare quickly, ‘Sorry. I am not leaving this room.’ Because the next event up is Scott himself and I am not going to miss that. I start looking around for where I’m going to sit and just happen to fall in with Geoff Chalmers who’s just walked in. We have a big hello and I just naturally end up sitting next to him and we’re able to have a really good catchup as Scott’s preparing himself on the stage.

When the queue outside starts to get let in, I finally meet Hutch and it’s really cool as we very quickly fall into a natural conversation as though we already knew each other and were hanging out just yesterday. But before long out attention has to turn to the stage.

Scott’s show is an exercise in demonstrating the language of music communication and to do this he’s brought together two musicians who he deliberately has never met before – Mike Outram on guitar and Cleverson Silva on drums. Scott can’t even talk to Cleverson who’s Brazilian and has barely any English. That just helps demonstrate even more how a jam situation can work and how musicians communicate during songs without being able to talk. With Scott it turns into a true masterclass of the form. It’s a session that has people staring on in amazement at times, not least at the incredible Mr Silva who becomes a talking point of the weekend.

This next thing happens quite a bit so I’ll cover it in one go. I discover this weekend that Scott is a born teacher. Yes, we kind of knew that anyway but I discover it at a whole different level. As this is his room and he’s introducing people before and thanking them after and keeping us up to date with what’s going on, he gets quite a lot of mic time. So often he morphs into teaching mode probably without even realising it. You’re sitting there watching him introducing someone then all of a sudden you think, ‘I don’t know exactly when it started but he’s teaching me something here.’ He catches himself a few times and says variations of, ‘Sorry. I’ve just started teaching again.’ Keep it coming.

After Scott I miss the next SBL seminar to head off to the masterclass room to see Dave Ellefson. I’ve lapsed quite a bit and can’t claim encyclopaedic knowledge of Megadeth’s past few albums, but everything up to Youthanasia I am very well informed of and, like everyone else, was and remain a huge fan of Rust In Peace. So that’s their first ten years covered. I even have a signed album of Rust In Piece my uncle got when he went along to one of their meet and greets in Manchester that I couldn’t go to. I’m thrilled to see Dave up close as he performs a few bass playalongs to classic Megadeth tracks and talks about life and bass in general. I manage a question in the Q&A section which gets him talking about up and down picking and just down picking – a huge topic in plectrum playing. And in the process of this we discover he became a plectrum player purely because he couldn’t afford a big amp when he first started so had to use a plectrum to generate a bit more volume. I’ve been there and done that myself.

As I’m leaving at the end there’s a crowd of people wanting to meet and talk to him. I just manage to catch him as I pass by to shake his hand and utter a slightly silly sounding, ‘Great to meet you.’ I can barely claim this to have been a meeting. But I did ask him a question and he did look at me practically the entire time he was answering it so I have definitely engaged with him. But I don’t realise what shaking his hand means until I leave the room and start meeting people in the cafeteria area. Oh cafeteria area. Try saying that after a few drinks. In fact, never arrange to meet anyone in one after a few drinks especially if you don’t know where it is as there’s no way you’ll be able to ask anyone for directions. I’ve digressed haven’t I? Well yeah. As soon as I start encountering people I find I’ve suddenly become ridiculously giddy with excitement. ‘I’ve just met Dave Ellefson. I’ve just met Dave Ellefson.’ I’m massively surprised at the levels I manage to achieve. Really did not see that coming.

So far it’s been really hard to get a private word with Scott. We’ve said hello and had little chats in between knots of people but he really is massively and understandably in demand. And, apart from that, very busy and generally occupied with the SBL room. I do manage to ask if he could make time for a quick private chat as I have something I’d really like to talk about and he says absolutely, no problem. I keep placing myself near to him in between seminars waiting for him to be alone but I also try to do this a little discretely. I don’t want to be like a nuisance fly buzzing around him. But when I say this to someone on Team SBL they tell me I kind of have to be like that as it will be the only way get hold of him. I also don’t want to push it too much because I know I also have tomorrow. I’m in here after the Dave Ellefson masterclass and everything’s being packed away for the day. After a while of trying to be as discrete as possible, Scott comes up to me. ‘I’ve just got a few errands to run,’ he says. ‘Stay here and I’ll be back in 10 minutes or so.’ Excellent. Thankyou very much. But not long after that the venue’s clear out gang is on the scene and everyone has to leave. It’s now approaching 6pm and the place is closing.

My mind starts to turn towards tonight. I’ve done my maths on the time and figure I can hang around until a little after 8pm before having to leave for tonight’s gig which starts at 11. Maybe I’ll catch Scott in the pub before I have to head off. As to where that will be, there’s been some confusion. But enough people in the know have said The Hand And Flower which was where the afterparty was held last year. Myself and a bunch of people head over there. Myself and Mr Cookie Monster – Andrew McMahon make ourselves comfortable at the bar while a few other people make themselves comfortable having dinner. We’re happy to just have a drink. We get invited over a few times but each time decide we’re quite happy at the bar. We’ve got a good little vibe going over here. I also have a sudden realisation that I’m totally wiped out. I think I’ve just been so wired the whole day. Mentally totally switched on, taking everything in and being at maximum energy for every conversation. The same thing happened at the previous shows. Just as we’ve got second drinks, it’s announced that everyone’s over at The Albion and everyone leaves. Bugger. Just got another drink. Right. Last year after seeing the band in The Hand And Flower I said I was going to try to play with the band at the next event. Well here we are. I’m also aware Scott might be at The Albion too and that could be my chance to ask him about the book. And to hang out with him and anyone else in general too. This is about far more than ulterior motive although yes that is quite powerful too. I tell Andrew I’m happy to leave my pint. It’s a fiver and the opportunity to get involved across the road is worth far more. So yes we’re going to do that but then I have the bright idea that I have an empty water bottle in my bag. To Andrew’s surprise and laughter the whole thing goes into that. I’m ready.

We get across to meet Rachel, Daisy and Dom and set ourselves up near the front as the band’s about to start with Dave Marks on bass who I go and say hi to as he’s having a quick pre gig chill. Just as they get ready to begin he announces that after they’ve done a few songs the floor will be open for anyone who wants to get up. Oh. Yes please. I know just about everyone in the place will want to play but with a gig on tonight I have places to go and people to see. In between songs I manage to catch Dave’s attention and tell him I have to go do a gig. Could I possibly go on first? No problem he says.

So jam announced and I get the call up followed by Dom on drums which is cool. And they bring up a new guitarist. I really wasn’t expecting the full band to be replaced and I’m not entirely sure about this. The vocalist is still there but we have to do something for her to sing to first. We all get up there and she asks what song we’re going to do. As can happen when you’re put right on the spot at first I draw a complete blank. I’ve already been trying to have a think about this but no. There’s a ton of songs now I know but up there when you’re trying to think of one everyone will be OK with it’s a bit different. Seven Nation Army pops into my head so I let it out of my mouth. No, says the vocalist quite definitively. Fine. I mention another but can’t remember what it is. The guitarist doesn’t know it. Vocalist is starting to get frustrated and the crowd will soon get restless. Without saying anything I just launch into the bass riff of Higher Ground. Yes,Shouts the vocalist. As I’m playing that the guitarist is just looking at me blankly and saying, ‘Is it in E minor?’ That’s enough to tell me she doesn’t know the song so there’s no point in pursuing it. I stop and again, suggestions aren’t coming. Right. Enough of this.We’ve got to do something. I just call a fast blues in G. One two three four. It’s been a slow, semi painful launch but we’re off. I’m a little disappointed to see the singer isn’t sticking around. I thought she would have done something with us. But no. This will now be purely instrumental. We let the guitar take the lead and I’m happy to look up and see at least a few people are dancing. Are they really into it or have they just decided to come here for a good time and dance at anything? I have no idea. The guitarist has done her few leady bits and Dom decides it’s time for me to take a solo so calls it. Is it any good? I’m not at all sure. I think I can safely say I’ve done better solos but hey, sometimes you’re right on it and sometimes you’re not. Maybe here I’m somewhere in between. Not long after that Dom takes a drum solo before the three of us manage to lock in again to take it to the end. I don’t think you could claim it at all as a classic of the genre but at the end we’re all still standing and all in one piece. The next bass player’s on his way up and that’s my cue to get out of there. I say bye to all the guys, a thankyou very much to Dave and I’m off to play a real gig. Alright, it was only a jam session in here but last year I made it a big goal to play the London Bass Show afterparty. And now I just have.

My plan now is to go straight to Dan’s and get all the gear to the venue. Once we’ve done that I’ll run home and get my bass. Not having to go home between here and Dan’s will save quite a lot of time and is the reason I’ve been able to hang around as late as I have. This all goes smoothly enough but when we get in the venue, well that’s the problem. We can barely get in the venue. It’s coming up to 10:30 and the massively hyped David Hayes/ Tony Bellew fight is just about to begin. The place is absolutely heaving and just about everybody is at least slightly north of the sensible number of pints. All we can do is struggle to get through the crowd and drop our gear off under and slightly behind the big screen. The whole stage area is filled with two table loads of people who aren’t going anywhere anytime soon. This is crazy. All my thoughts from last night about this place come flooding back but this time twice as strong. We’re two guys with an acoustic guitar and a bass. And we’re going to have to entertain this huge already drunken crowd. And after the big fight event which anyone remotely interested in boxing has been talking about for weeks. Which also hasn’t even yet begun. A situation for quite decent sized, well fronted up cojones.

But as for time, a little pressure’s been taken off as we’re clearly not starting at 11pm. So I’m able to take a leisurely walk home and pick my bass up.

I’m able to get back and still watch the fight which is generating a crazy atmosphere in the bar with everyone cheering on the underdog Bellew. The place goes mad when he wins after 11 dramatic rounds. I don’t like this next bit so much as the two boxers who’ve been trash talking each other to obscene levels in the build up come together in a joint interview for a love-in which is almost as over the top. Great that they’re showing respect and all that. But with all that supposed animosity before? What are you supposed to believe? Yeah, we know it’s all hype but this one was ridiculous. Still, great fight.

It’s our turn to get ready to rumble. Now we have to keep this party going which is the bit that’s had me on a recurring edge since last night and now I can see that was just the warm up.The bar staff and bouncers help us clear out our area and I collect glasses while dan unpacks the gear. We get it all fired up and begin a soundcheck in which we have to push our levels a bit to be suitable for the still hyped up mass in front of us and right the way to the back of the bar. By the time everything’s ready it’s just about midnight which means a straight two hour shoot through to two O’Clock. We hit hard with some of our most rocking songs right at the beginning and people are immediately singing along with a few coming up front to dance. In here we’ve got the bass up loud to really push things on and it works as we have people dancing right at the very back past the glass partition that creates a smaller alove over there. The boys over to our right playing pool are singing along and I know we’re really fine when I see PJ the hard to please owner just chilling out and playing pool as well. He’s clearly relaxed about it all. When we finish, an encore is demanded and of course very happily given.

PJ comes over as we’re packing up and says, ‘Well done lads.’ Promising opening. Then, But you did play a few slower songs at the start there which I wasn’t too sure about.’ I say we were adding a bit of contrast and shade after the big start and people seemed to like it. He doesn’t argue the point and I don’t push mine. The message is clear. He didn’t care too much for that vibe and would prefer things to be a bit less subtle. Recieved. However, he continues, ‘I really liked a lot of the rockier stuff you did and you had the people dancing. Give me a call on Monday and we’ll sort some more dates out.’ Brilliant.

Quite a few other guys come and talk to us after that including one who says he’s a guitarist and asks if me and Dan wouldn’t mind joining up with him and a drummer friend for some jams in a studio that they’ll pay for. As always, you never know if these things are going to be followed through and he’s clearly made his fair share of trips to the bar. But he’s lucid enough to be fair. He says what did it for him was how confident we looked when setting up. If only he knew.

I’ve not eaten for quite a while so that gets rectified on my way home followed by a post gig beer. By the time I get to bed it’s almost 5am. I plan on being back at the Olympia for Geoff Chalmers’ double bass masterclass which begins in six and a half hours time. I set my alarm for nine.

Day 426

Sunday March 5

Unbelievably when my alarm goes off at nine I bounce up and I’m ready. Quick shower, wide awake again and off to see Geoff. With the buses deciding to favour me this morning I arrive at the Olympia and walk into the SBL room just as he’s getting ready to start.

What follows is a brilliant introduction to the double bass for people transitioning from electric. It’s a bit of an inspired topic in my opinion because most of the people here are electric players with little experience of its huge brother although most of us have at least the inkling of an aspiration to have a go somewhere down the line. I’ve had my dabbles but like I’ve said here before, they’ve really been dabbles of dabbles. What’s really cool is that afterwards, with Geoff having invited anyone up who fancies a go, Anita – Heket – is the first one up on the stage area to do just that. I can’t help thinking that she’s known as the U-bass queen, playing the smallest basses out there, and now here she is having a play of pretty much the biggest. The juxtaposition does tickle me a little.

Apart from forays out in between seminars, I stay in this room all day, next taking in Overwater boss and master luthier Chris May’s talk on building electric basses and a really engaging history of their evolution. There is a luthier room here this year and I neglect to check it out. So I made a point of attending this talk because I really should know a little more about how these things are put together and at least how to do basic running repairs.

Next up is Steve Lawson whose looper course I recently started studying just as me and Dan bought our loop pedal. I was quite thrilled to meet him yesterday and to be able to tell him how useful his course was and how I intended to continue following it. What he has for us today is a walk through his incredibly intimidating pedal board/computer setup. Sorry. Did I say intimidating? I meant terrifying. But it’s a little comforting to hear him say that even he doesn’t always know what sounds are going to come out when he starts putting stuff in. He just reacts to whatever happens and goes on layering, all the while having to deal any unpredictability that’s just happened. All part of the fun as far as he’s concerned. I said not so long ago that I’m not really a pedal guy. But if I was I don’t think I’d look anywhere else for instruction. As you’d expect, a true master of what he does and he creates sounds I don’t think any of us will ever hear again which, he says, is a massive part of the charm of it all.

Throughout most of today I keep at least one eye on Scott, waiting for that moment when he might be alone but it really isn’t happening. He’s a true celebrity round these parts and so many people are rightly thrilled to have a chance to meet the guy who’s inspired and taught them so much. I really don’t want to get in the way of any of that. As you would expect he gives everyone as much time as he can and greets everyone as though they’re the first person he’s met this weekend. I have to say Geoff gets his fair share of all this too and handles it with every bit as well. Posing for photographs and chatting for as long as people want to. A defining image of Scott is created when, in between seminars and after taking forever to be able to walk through the room he finally gets out to do whatever it is he’s on his way to do. As he does so it’s like he has a full on entourage as people who still haven’t manage to say hi or to pass on their thoughts walk with him into the main hall.

We’re getting ready for the last seminar of the weekend. Phil Mann. The room’s filling up but Scott wants it maxed out. He says he’s going to stand outside the door and usher passers by in. I think this is my chance so after a minute or so I go outside to see if we can get that private chat. ‘Hey Scott. Are we good to talk now?’ ‘Yeah.’ The trademark smile. ‘But we’ll have to be quick. Phil’s starting in a minute.’ No problem. What is a problem is that we’re surrounded by basses making their bass noises and clashing together like competing storm systems over the Atlantic. The cacophonous drone the Bass Show has almost made its signature sound. There’s no question of us running off to find a quiet spot. We have to talk here.

I enter with zero preamble. ‘I’ve about to start looking for agents to get Mark’s Diaries published.’ ‘Fantastic,’ comes the very encouraging reply. I’ve thought quite a bit about what my next words would be and they come out just as imagined. ‘Would you at at all be prepared to consider endorsing them?’ ‘Yeah, no problem Mark.’ After all I’ve built myself up to ask this, his reply is as casual as if I’ve just asked if he can watch my bag for a minute. He really is very cool with it. I think my shoulders suddenly relax and drop an inch or two as I really have been a little bit nervous about this. More, really, that I wouldn’t get the chance to ask but then yes, also as to what his reaction would be. I go on and ask about a few more bits and pieces that I’ve thought of relating to all that and, to use his phrase, he’s super positive about it all but I’ll leave that between us for now. It’s enough to say that I’m thrilled, ecstatic, absolutely overjoyed by it all really. So much so that I can’t help myself from jumping up and down right there. I’m actually jumping for joy and thanking him. Scott responds to that by giving me a big hug. As we break from that and shake hands, it’s time for Phil’s seminar. Talk about maximising time. The whole conversation has probably lasted less than two minutes but everything that needed to be talked about was covered. In we go for Phil.

If I was nervous before, a minute or so after taking my seat, out of nowhere I’m hit by another wave of nervousness that I wasn’t expecting at all as I have a sudden realisation. Now the proposed book has Scott’s endorsement, by extension so does my bass development and everything I’m trying to achieve in that field. It’s like he’s not just endorsing the book, he’s also endorsing me. I think there’s always been some pressure by the mere fact that this Diary exists and has been out there from the start to whatever extent. But this is an actual real responsibility now and something I have to live up to. Something I have to continue to work towards and be worthy of. I feel like I’ve just crossed a virtual threshold into another realm and into a special flavour of daunting. There is not one aspect of that I would want to change.

Phil Mann is always engaging and inspiring and today is no different. He’s also come with an important message. Learn your triads. His lesson today is that despite all his immense amounts of training and qualifications, everything happened for him after he had spent an intense period of study learning triads. As for everything else he says, I won’t mess up his stories. And besides, I should leave it all for him to tell either around SBL which I’m sure he will sooner or later, or if you happen to meet him either in person or at another seminar somewhere. However, I will pass on the huge amount of kudos he places on Scott for the advent of Scottsbasslessons and also his earlier shoutout to Chris May who took Scott under his wing all those years ago and helped to guide him down the bass path that led ultimately to this very room today and all the amazing people and players we’ve seen take part in the masterclasses over the weekend.

With the end of Phil’s seminar comes the end of the events in the SBL room and essentially the end of the London Bass Show. I catch up with him briefly and buy the second volume of his Chord Tone Concepts – 7th arpeggios. I’m going to be sure to start on page one after his warning during his talk. ‘It’s to be started right from the beginning. If you start halfway through I won’t be happy. If you start on the last page I will find you.’

People are going to be milling around here for a while and I’m no different. I stay and chat with Lefty Harry and Hutch. Geoff has also been kind enough to let me leave my bass in here all day as I intend to go to the Blues Kitchen later on. I wasn’t really planning on it but quite a few people mentioned the possibility of a visit yesterday, not least Siby so of course I’m going to go and bring along anyone who fancies it. Harry and Hutch would like to take a look at my bass and I go and get it out. ‘There it is,’ says Hutch. ‘The famous Washburn. That bass has got some mojo.’ It certainly has. I’ve said here before that I don’t think I chose the bass. Harry Potter wand style I think it chose me. And I tell them I’m offended it was ever all on its own on a wall in a shop where just anyone could have come and picked it up. I think I’m even more offended that no-one thought to buy it. I tell them the story that when I went to buy it I wasn’t too happy with the action so asked if they could take it up with no obligation to buy. They took it out back and, as a potentially paying customer and still very much a looking customer, I felt I now had the right to go round the shop and try whatever they had I liked the look of. So that’s what I did. Right up to the most expensive basses they had. By the time I’d finished that exercise and they brought out the modified Washburn, not yet My modified Washburn, I knew that I could have walked into any shop in Denmark Street with a blank cheque and still would have left London that day with that bass.

Now the whole show is done, I can say it’s been the best London Bass Show of the three I’ve attended and that is mostly down to the SBL room which was standing room only practically the whole time. Congratulations Scott, Geoff and Team SBL. I said I wasn’t going to name names unless they came up naturally in here for fear of missing someone out but special mention has to go to Travis and to Stu, the guy who said I couldn’t go into Zoltan’s class yesterday as it was full. Through my SBL journey I’ve got to know Travis a bit as have many of you as he has become a more and more integral part of SBL and I’m delighted for him that he has and I tell him so. And Stu was just very cool as we had a bit of a chat about the development of SBL and how he goes way way back with Scott and they’re now working together on this great venture. It was also great this weekend to catch up again with Geoff Mr Crane who accompanied us on our ill fated venture to The Hand And Flower yesterday. Oh, and Andrew – Cookie Monster – McMahon’s cookies and other treats without which the LBS would no longer be complete.

At my first weekend here I went over to the bar afterwards and had a pint and a burger on my own. Last year it was just me and Daniel Wester after I bumped into him by chance after the last auditorium show. This year a whole slew of us head off to the Hand And Flower for dinner. As we’re sitting at our massive table contemplating the menu, Siby, Heket and Rachel start to work on their own three part harmony version of a massive recent chart hit. I think it’s fair to say I’ve got to know Rachel a little better this weekend as well and made the point of telling her she has all the best bass faces. She and the other two girls are working on their own little thing down there but they really entertain the table with some brilliant three part harmonies for the start of a project that I predict is going to get a lot of SBL love. Apart from that we all just revel in the great vibes continuing from the weekend and settle in for a few drinks and excellent roast dinners. I say plural but you should understand we only have one each. After a couple of hours so of this there are a few emotional goodbyes and then the SBL posse heads off to catch a bus to Camden and the Blues Kitchen.

This is made up of myself, of course, Daniel Wester, Siby and Kevin, Gianni ChangNoy and Mattheus – I really hope I spelled his name right. Please feel free to correct me if I haven’t. We get a bus very quickly and then it’s about 45 minutes to Camden during which we intermittently make quite a lot of noise at the front of the top deck, the only way to travel on a London bus, or any double decker bus come to it.

The bus stops practically outside The Blues Kitchen and as we approach it, one one of the bouncers says, ‘Wow this is a lot of people.’ Into it we go and everyone gets their first look at the place and trips are made to the bar. As I get deeper in, I realise that there are hardly any regulars here this week and that continues although we do get a trickle. What that means is that a whole load of new people get up and play. The place is also packed with tourists tonight and they’re all excitedly hanging out at the front making the stage a particularly cool place to be tonight. And we even manage to get a table that has somehow and completely inadvertently become my regular table here. Just off to the left right at the front and right on the edge of the dancefloor area.

I’ve texted ahead to let the organisers know tonight that I’m bringing a crowd with two guys on holiday who would like to play. I sent one yesterday as well when it became clear that something like this was on the cards. I receive a reply that all is cool just as we get off the bus and are walking towards it.

I’m the first of us to be called up and I’m going to be with Alan. As a bass player you don’t get much opportunity to really open up with Alan as he just wants it tight and grooving. But that’s fine. I do what I do and a lot of it is what bass playing is all about with the Blues. And yep, there’s the SBL crowd at the front giving me their full support. Despite my previous planning and forewarning, as I finish I’m told, ‘Sorry but we only have room for one of your friends.’

Now I don’t expect any special treatment but having made it clear that I was bringing in people from abroad who were here just for the weekend and that two of them wanted to play, I do find it just a little bit mean spirited that this has happened. It’s happened because one particular person, who has the list of players within in his control and who plays here every week, has decided to play bass on a few extra sets that any number of other people could have played on. I’m disappointed but don’t hesitate. ‘It has to be Mattheus. The other one got to play here last year.’ Sorry Daniel. But when I tell him what’s just happened and my thinking, he completely understands. But yes, I do also give him my opinion on my errant BK friend.

Mattheus gets up and he has the great fortune to be put with Freddie McVintage and settles in right behind him delivering a powerhouse of a performance on my bass. I can tell Freddie’s perfectly comfortable with him too as he sets off on all his trademark moves to a delighted and packed front of house.

Then the finales of the night begin, led by Mikey Christer which Siby and Kevin stick around to see before having to call it a night with early flights booked. But not before Siby tells me how delighted she is to have seen the place and to have experienced four Blues Kitchen Diary legends – legends is her word but we can leave it in. Alan, Freddie, Mikey, and I can’t remember who the other one was. Not a bad night’s work when the regulars were a bit thin on the ground although none of this was really any the poorer for their absence. That is no disrespect to them, but instead all respect to so many of the new people we’ve seen tonight including a full Japanese band who got up and stormed the place. I am given a flyer but unfortunately manage to lose it so I can’t tell you who they are. They were seriously impressive.

Towards the end, my SBL friends all say goodnight and head off into London in a taxi together. I stay right to the end and catch the fantastic Brett Mcgloughlin before heading home myself. I think it’s fair to say I’ve squeezed out every last drop of this particular London Bass Show Weekend. Goodnight.

Leave a comment